Am I Crazy?

My family and co-workers think I am having a major mid life crisis. I am 43, with two kids over 20 and a supportive husband. Me and my husband have met at Air Force; rode until I was pregnant.

Eight months ago, I was stuck in traffic and a group of riders passed me. One day later I started to research motorcycles online and stopping at every dealer around. After 2 weeks I got brave enough to talk to my husband about wanting a bike. He was very supportive and said to go for it. I really fell in love with 2005 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard FXST. It was like love from first sight. I haven’t been on a bike for over 22 years, but I managed to ride around the parking lot without dropping it.

I picked up the bike from the seller, and went the same day to DMV to take the written test. I should have found back roads instead of highways. However, I am glad my husband was there to block the traffic with the car for me to ride safely for first time. It took us a good 1 hours to get back home, when it usually is about 30 minutes.

Sunday, I rode the biker for 6 hours with stops of course, I had to put in gas 3 or 4 times. The time got away while I was riding, and I remember thinking that I am about 50 miles away from home. As I ride more I realize that I am more relaxed and happy than I have been in long time. I plan now on convincing my husband to ride with me, I just can’t believe I have waited so long.

Dedicated to the women who ride their own motorcycles

By Linda

2005 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard FXST

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. bikermonkey

     /  January 10, 2013

    Reblogged this on bikermonkey and commented:
    Another one got the bug and sounds like a lifer now. We love to hear these stories! ROCK ON Linda.

    Reply
  2. This is what you call bringing a dormant recessive gene to life… Ride On Linda.

    Reply
    • Excuse me … but HELL NO you aren’t crazy! My whole blog is about falling in love with the bike at 47, riding on my own at 48 and taking solo trips each summer (and riding with friends all year long). Check it out sometime … I love to keep in touch with other bikers!

      Reply
  3. vancouverstuntgirl

     /  January 16, 2013

    Midlife crisis? More like midlife freedom!!! You go girl!

    Reply
  1. Am I Crazy? - Biker Monkey Fort Worth-Dallas, Texas - Live, Love, Ride

Leave a Reply

